Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Group 1

  • row1
    Date: Sep 19, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $500,000


Hawkes colts fight out Golden Rose finish

Rosehill 4 3 19580323 2031414 20200926170940c4a8bb0f f128 44f8 aeb6

Two superbly bred Hawkes Racing colts have fought out the finish of the Group One Golden Rose as Rothfire's Everest campaign came under a cloud. The Queensland flyer, who started an odds-on favourite, punctured late t... Continue Reading

Rising star Russian Camelot earns praise Pippie leads throughout to win Moir Stakes September 26: 9 Must Watch Horses on Underwood Stakes Day Weight right for Boomsara in Weetwood Mark Zahra Picks Up Verry Elleegant Caulfield Cup Ride Read more Horse Racing news

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a $500,000 Group 1 race, run over 1400m at Caulfield Racecourse in Victoria.

In 2020, the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes will be held on Saturday, September 19. It’s set to be a big day of racing, with the Group 1 George Main Stakes being run at Randwick on September 19 as well.

The Daniel Bowman-trained Begood Toya Mother won the race in 2019, edging out Age of Chivalry and Patrick Payne’s Widgee Turf. It was a good result for plenty of punters, as Begood Toya Mother was well backed heading into the race. After the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, the gelding took no further part in the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival but in 2020 competed in two Group 1s, the C.F. Orr Stakes and the Canterbury Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes was first run back in 1951 but was then known as the Invitation Stakes. In 2006 it was named after Australian solider and businessman Sir Rupert William John Clarke, who was a long-time chairman of the Victoria Amateur Turf Club, which is now the Melbourne Racing Club.

Jovial Lad won the inaugural race and since then a number of great horses have claimed victory in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. Legendary horse Manikato won it back in 1978 and Newmarket Handicap winner Exceed and Excel crossed the line first in 2003. More recently, star sprinter Santa Ana Lane claimed victory in the Group 1.

Only a few horses have been good enough to win the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes in consecutive years. Anonyme claimed victory in 1961 and 1962, while Tauto replicated that feat in 1970 and 1971. The most recent horse to do it was Testa Rossa, who won in 1999 and 2000. It is also worth mentioning that St. Joel was victorious on three separate occasions, 1953, 1956 and 1959

Begood Toya Mother won the 2019 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes in a very handy 1:21.98, however it is not the fastest race time of the last 20 years. 2003 winner Exceed and Excel passed the post in 1:21.20, while Toorak Toff (1:21.95) and Testa Rossa (1:21.97) also showed great speed in their victories.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Field

Many horses who run the Sir Rupert Clarkes Stakes also compete in the Toorak Handicap, which means the field is often full of very high-quality runners. Last year Begood Toya Mother, Age of Chivalry and Widgee Turf made up the placings, however, the likes of Streets of Avalon, Cliff’s Edge, Black Heart Bart and Iconoclasm also competed.

Nominations for the race close on September 14, with final acceptances announced on September 16.

Here is the 2020 Rupert Clarke Stakes Field:

Horse Win Place
1 Behemoth (5)J: Craig Williams 60kg T: D R Jolly $4.40 $1.85
2 Streets Of Avalon (17)J: Daniel Stackhouse 58.5kg T: S P Nichols $20.00 $6.00
3 Begood Toya Mother (4)J: Declan Bates 58kg T: Daniel Bowman $17.00 $5.00
4 Cascadian (8)J: Damien Oliver 58kg T: James Cummings $12.00 $3.80
5 Superstorm (18)J: William Pike 57kg T: G & A Williams $9.50 $3.10
6 Dollar For Dollar (7)J: Luke Nolen 56.5kg T: T & C Mcevoy $41.00 $9.00
7 Madam Rouge (20)J: Ben Melham 56kg T: C J Waller $16.00 $4.80
8 Mandela Effect (2)J: Craig Newitt 56kg T: Scott Brunton $41.00 $9.00
9 Reykjavik (11)J: Dean Yendall 56kg T: L Smith $21.00 $6.00
10 Achernar Star (1)J: Jamie Mott 55.5kg T: L Smith $34.00 $8.50
11 Age Of Chivalry (13)J: Damian Lane 55.5kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra $8.50 $2.90
12 Debt Agent (3)J: Billy Egan 54.5kg T: J T Conlan $61.00 $16.00
13 Pretty Brazen (10)J: Luke Currie 54.5kg T: T & C Mcevoy $16.00 $4.80
14 Roheryn (14)J: John Allen 54.5kg T: James Cummings $19.00 $5.50
15 Tagaloa (12)J: Michael Walker 54kg T: T Busuttin & N Young $8.50 $2.90
16 Banquo (6)J: Jye Mcneil 54kg T: D T O’brien $8.50 $2.90
17 Harlech (9)J: Michael Dee 54kg T: M D Moroney $21.00 $6.00
18 I Am Superman (15)J: Unknown 54kg T: P & P Snowden $18.00 $5.50
19 Gold Fields (19)J: Unknown 54kg T: Logan Mcgill $201.00 $41.00
20 Runson (16)J: Unknown 54kg T: L & T Corstens $41.00 $9.00


Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Betting

Due to strong fields, the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes can be a tough race to find a winner in, but also one that is rewarding if you do. In 2019, plenty of punters were smiling after the race because the well-backed Begood Toya Mother saluted. In the three years prior, the winners were all in double-digit odds.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Results

As mentioned, it was the well-backed Begood Toya Mother who claimed victory in the 2019 Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. He beat out Age of Chivalry and Widgee Turf in a fantastic race.

1 Begood Toya Mother Daniel Bowman Declan Bates $3.10
2 Age of Chivalry Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Michael Dee $15
3 Widgee Turf Patrick Payne Billy Egan $14
4 Streets of Avalon Shane Nichols Zac Spain $31
5 So Si Bon Dabid & B Hayes & T Dabernig Jamie Kah $8
6 Cliff’s Edge Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Jamie Mott $26
7 Deprive James Cummings Ms Rachel King $13
8 Best of Days James Cummings Dean Yendall $26
9 Madison County Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Damian Lane $16
10 Amphitrite Dabid & B Hayes & T Dabernig Craig Williams $6.50
11 Black Heart Bart Lindsey Smith Brad Rawiller $51
12 Despatch Tony & Calvin McEvoy Ben Melham $19
13 Fastnet Tempest Dabid & B Hayes & T Dabernig Andrew Mallyon $151
14 Iconoclasm Danny O’Brien Ms Linda Meech $9

Sir Ruper Clarke Stakes Winners

2019 – Begood Toya Mother
2018 – Jungle Cat
2017 – Santa Ana Lane
2016 – Bon Aurum
2015 – Stratum Star
2014 – Trust in A Gust
2013 – Rebel Dane
2012 – Moment of Change
2011 – Toorak Toff
2010 – Response