Melbourne Cup

Group 1

  • row1
    Date: Nov 3, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 3,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $8,000,000


Hawkes colts fight out Golden Rose finish

Rosehill 4 3 19580323 2031414 20200926170940c4a8bb0f f128 44f8 aeb6

Two superbly bred Hawkes Racing colts have fought out the finish of the Group One Golden Rose as Rothfire's Everest campaign came under a cloud. The Queensland flyer, who started an odds-on favourite, punctured late t... Continue Reading

Rising star Russian Camelot earns praise Pippie leads throughout to win Moir Stakes September 26: 9 Must Watch Horses on Underwood Stakes Day Weight right for Boomsara in Weetwood Mark Zahra Picks Up Verry Elleegant Caulfield Cup Ride Read more Horse Racing news

The Melbourne Cup is Australia’s most prestigious race and the highlight of the Spring Racing Carnival. The 3200m race is run under handicap conditions and boasts a stunning prize pool of $8 million. It is known as ‘the race that stops the nation’ and in Victoria has its own public holiday. In 2020, the Melbourne Cup will be held on Tuesday, November 3.

Vow And Declare won the 2019 edition of the Melbourne Cup carrying 52kg. Geelong Cup winner Prince Of Arran ran second, meanwhile Irish galloper Il Paradiso finished third for trainer Aidan O’Brien. In the lead up to the Melbourne Cup, Vow And Declare ran fourth in the Turnbull Stakes and placed second in the Caulfield Cup.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of the Melbourne Cup was way back in 1861, with Archer crossing the line first, a feat which he replicated the next year as well. Since then, as you’d expect, some of the very best to grace the turf have won the race. Phar Lap won in 1930 and Delta saluted in 1951. Think Big was successful twice in the 1970s and Might And Power was too strong in 1997. However, the most notable of all winners was the legendary Makybe Diva, who famously won the Melbourne Cup three times in a row in the 2000s. She remains the only horse to ever achieve the feat.

The trainer most associated with the Melbourne Cup is Bart Cummings. Known as the ‘Cups King’, Cummings won the prestigious race a record twelve times, which is the most of any trainer. The first victory came with Light Fingers and was the first of a three-peat for the champion trainer. His most recent win was with viewed in 2008. Sadly, the legend passed away in 2015 at the age of 87.

No jockey has ever been able to replicate Cummings’ level of success in the Melbourne Cup, however, there are two that have managed to win the race four times. Bobby Lewis recorded four victories between 1902 to 1927, meanwhile, Harry White crossed the line first four times in the 1970s. Two of White’s victories cam onboard champion runner Think big.

Recently the Melbourne Cup has had a sub-plot, the battle of local horses against their overseas rivals. Vow And Declare scored a win for the local brigade in the 2019 edition of the race, finishing ahead of a brigade of international hopefuls. The win was the first from a home-bred horse since Shocking crossed the line in front in 2009.

Vow And Declare clocked 3:24.76 to win the Melbourne Cup in 2019 but it was a long way off the fastest time in the last 20 years, which belongs to Media Puzzle. In 2002, he ran 3:16.87 to win for jockey Damien Oliver and trainer Dermot K. Weld. The quickest winning time ever in the Melbourne Cup and the Flemington 3200m track record is 3:16.30, which Kingston Rule recorded in 1990.

Melbourne Cup Field

Due to its prestige, the Melbourne Cup gets hundreds of nominations, with a field eventually determined by the quality of runners. The maximum number of horses in the field is 24. Nominations and final acceptances for the race will happen in the week leading up to the big event.

Melbourne Cup Betting

Due to the sheer volume of horses, and the distance of the race, the Melbourne Cup is a tough race to find a winner. Over the last five years, four of the victors have had starting prices between $9 and $15. The only outlier in that group is Prince of Penzance, who famously won at $101.

Melbourne Cup Results

1 Vow And Declare Danny O’Brien Craig Williams $11
2 Prince Of Arran Charlie Fellowes Michael Walker $17
3 Il Paradiso Aidan O’Brien Wayne Lordan $15
4 Master Of Reality Joseph O’Brien Frankie Dettori $26
5 Surprise Baby Paul Preusker Jordan Childs $12
6 Mer De Glace Hisashi Shimizu Damian Lane $9.50
7 Finche Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy $8.50
8 Cross Counter Charlie Appleby William Buick $13
9 Steel Prince Anthony Freedman Brett Prebble $61
10 Magic Wand Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore $26
11 Twilight Payment Joseph O’Brien Hugh Bowman $41
12 Sound Michael Moroney James Winks $91
13 Constantinople David Hayes Joao Moreira $9.50
14 Mirage Dancer Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Ben Melham $51
15 Hunting Horn Aidan O’Brien Seamie Heffernan $51
16 Raymond Tusk Richard Hannon Jamie Spencer $21
17 The Chosen One Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Tim Clark $31
18 Latrobe Joseph O’Brien James McDonald $21
19 Southern France Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Mark Zahra $26
20 Youngstar Chris Waller Tommy Berry $31
21 Neufbosc David Hayes Luke Nolen $101
22 Downdraft Joseph O’Brien John Allen $21
23 Mustajeer Kris Lees Damien Oliver $19
24 Rostropovich David Hayes Dwayne Dunn $41


2019 – Vow And Declare (3:24.76)
2018 – Cross Counter (3:21.17)
2017 – Rekindling (3:21.19)
2016 – Almandin (3:20.58)
2015 – Prince Of Penzance (3:23.15)
2014 – Protectionist (3:17.71)
2013 – Fiorente (3:20.30)
2012 – Green Moon (3:20.45)
2011 – Dunaden (3:20.84)
2010 – Americain (3:26.87)