Manikato Stakes

Group 1

  • row1
    Date: Oct 23, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $1,000,000


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Manikato Stakes is one of Australia’s premier Group 1 sprint races and is held at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Victoria. It is raced over 1200m under weight-for-age conditions and has a $1 million prize pool. In 2020, it will be run on Friday, October 23.

Loving Gaby won the 2019 edition of the Manikato Stakes for the Maher and Eustace stable. Vital Silver finished second less than a length behind, meanwhile, Anaheed placed third. The field included some other strong runners as well, with The Bostonian, Bivouac and Faatinah all finishing back in the pack. After winning the Manikato, Loving Gaby placed second behind Nature Strip in the Group 1 Darley Sprint Classic.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race takes its name from legendary horse Manikato. He won a number of top races including the Caulfield Guineas, Golden Slipper and Blue Diamond Stakes. He also claimed victory in the William Reid Stakes a mammoth five times. In 2002, Manikato was inducted in the Australian Racing Hall of Fame.

Some of the greats of the turf have won the Manikato Stakes over the years. Sunline crossed the line first in 2000, Miss Andretti won in 2006, Buffering was successful in 2013 and the grey flash, Chautauqua, claimed victory in 2015.

In 2019, Loving Gaby ran 1:09.29 to win the Manikato Stakes. It is the equal fastest time in the race over the last 20 years, with Miss Andretti also clocking 1:09.29 when she won in 2006.

Manikato Stakes Field

As mentioned, the Manikato Stakes is on Australia’s premier sprints and is used as a launching pad to the VRC Spring Classic. For that reason, the field is very strong, including many of the best sprinters from Australia and around the world. In 2020, nominations for the Manikato Stakes close on October 19, with final acceptances on October 21

Manikato Stakes Betting

The Manikato Stakes has been a mixed race for punters over the years, with one favourite winning over the last five years, and two runners with starting prices of over $20 also claiming victory. The most recent winner, Loving Gaby, had a starting price of $7 when she crossed the line first.

Manikato Stakes Results

1Loving GabyCiaron Maher & David EustaceCraig Williams$7
2Vital SilverDaniel & Ben PearceBen Melham$31
3AnaheedPeter & Paul SnowdenTim Clark$12
4Rock MagicChris GangemiJarrad Noske$41
5The BostonianTony PikeDamian Lane$7.50
6BivouacJames CummingsKerrin McEvoy$1.80
7Winter BrideToby & Trent EdmondsTommy Berry$41
8FaatinahDavid HayesJamie Kah$26
9TropeMichael, Wayne & John HawkesDwayne Dunn$12
10AshlorDan McCarthyDaniel Stackhouse$101
11MerylLee CurtisDean Yendall$41


2019 – Loving Gaby (1:09.29)
2018 – Brave Smash (1:09.36)
2017 – Hey Doc (1:09.96)
2016 – Rebel Dane (1:10.99)
2015 – Chautauqua (1:09.51)
2014 – Lankan Rupee (1:10.33)
2013 – Buffering (1:11.44)
2012 – Sea Siren (1:11.32)
2011 – Sepoy (1:11.08)
2010 – Hay List (1:09.94)