Makybe Diva Stakes

Group 1

  • row1
    Date: Sep 12, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $750,000


2020 Melbourne Cup Runner Oceanex Under Injury Cloud

Flemington 4 3 18760530 2010538 20200516150528e2934cac bac0 4c0e 8cd6

Mick Price and Michael Kent Jnr’s stayer Oceanex will undergo a veterinary examination on Friday to determine her fitness ahead of Tuesday’s 2020 Melbourne Cup. Speaking to RSN on Thursday, Price reported that his... Continue Reading

2020 Kennedy Cantala Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds 2020 Coolmore Stud Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds 2020 Empire Rose Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds Vandyke: ‘Question Marks’ on Alligator Blood in Golden Eagle O'Brien ready for the unorthodox in Derby Read more Horse Racing news

The Makybe Diva Stakes is a weight for age Group 1 race over 1600m at Flemington racecourse in Victoria and in 2020 will be held on Saturday, September 12.

It is the first Group 1 of spring and has a total prize pool of $750,000. In 2019 the Makybe Diva Stakes was won by the Darren McAuliffe-trained Gatting. Despite opening at $101 in the betting, the gelding took home a 0.75L win over heavily-backed favourite Mystic Journey, with Jamie Kah on board. Mr Quickie finished third, while Hartnell rounded out the top four.

Our FREE TIPS are on FIRE!

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Makybe Diva Stakes is the highlight race of what is set to be a big day of racing across the country. Also at Flemington are the Group 2 Bobbie Lewis Quality and Let’s Elope Stakes. Meanwhile, at Rosehill there are three Groups 2, the Theo Marks Stakes, the Run To The Rose and the Sheraco Stakes.

The race was originally known as the Craiglee Stakes, which took its name from the home of former Victorian Racing Club chairman Wilfred Henry Johnston. However, from 2007 onwards the race has been named after legendary horse Makybe Diva, who famously won three Melbourne Cups in a row in the mid-2000s.

In 1948 Lungi won the very first Makybe Diva Stakes (then the Craiglee Stakes), and since then a number of well-known horses have claimed victory in the famous race. They include Melbourne Cup winners Comic Court, Light Fingers, Rain Lover, Jeune and Shocking, along with the likes of Northerly, Fawkner, and Humidor.

Only two horses have ever won the Makybe Diva Stakes in back-to-back years. Chicquita claimed victory in 1950 and 1951, while Sailor’s Guide did it later that decade, winning in 1956 and 1957.

2019 winner Gatting took home victory over the 1600m at Flemington in an impressive 1:33.97. It is, in fact, the fastest time in the race over the past 20 years and was less than a second off Scenic Peak’s course record over 1600m, which is 1:33.490.

Makybe Diva Stakes Field

Due to the Makybe Diva Stakes being a Group 1 race held early in the Spring Racing Carnival it normally features excellent fields with quality horses looking to continue on to even better races. Nominations for the race close on Monday, September 7, with final acceptances being announced on Wednesday, September 9.

Find the 2020 Makybe Diva Stakes Field here:

NoHorseTrainerJockeyBarrierWeightHcp Rating
1VOW AND DECLAREDanny O'BrienCraig Williams1159kg113
2GAILO CHOP (FR)Matthew WilliamsJohn Allen359kg105
3HARLEM (GB)Tom Dabernig & Ben HayesJamie Mott659kg107
4FIERCE IMPACT (JPN)Matthew SmithMark Zahra559kg112
5GATTINGPeter G MoodyLuke Nolen459kg107
6LEVENDIPeter GelagotisJason Maskiell159kg105
7KINGS WILL DREAM (IRE)Chris WallerJye McNeil1559kg109
8SO SI BONTom Dabernig & Ben HayesDaniel Stackhouse1659kg106
9MASTER OF WINE (GER)Michael, Wayne & John HawkesMichael Rodd1059kg106
10WARNINGAnthony & Sam FreedmanBilly Egan958.5kg103
11DALASANLeon Macdonald & Andrew GluyasJordan Childs858.5kg103
12QUICK THINKERMurray Baker & Andrew ForsmanMichael Dee1358.5kg106
13RUSSIAN CAMELOT (IRE)Danny O'BrienDamien Oliver1457.5kg105
14PERFECT JEWELGrant & Alana WilliamsWilliam Pike257kg106
15PRINCESS JENNI (NZ)David BrideoakeEthan Brown1257kg102
16MIAMI BOUND (NZ)Danny O'BrienBen Melham756.5kg103

Makybe Diva Stakes Betting

If recent history shows us anything, the Makybe Diva Stakes can be a very difficult betting race, but if you can find the winner, it is also very fruitful. In 2019, Gatting won at a starting price of $101, and he was yet another in a string of outsiders winning the race. Before Gatting, Grunt ($12), Humidor ($17) and Palentino ($9) all won at big starting prices, rewarding those punters who backed them in a big way.

Makybe Diva Stakes Results

2020 Fierce Impact Mark Zahra Matthew Smith 1:36.33
2019 Gatting Jamie Kah Darren McAuliffe 1:33.97
2018 Grunt Damien Oliver Mick Price 1:34.91
2017 Humidor Damian Lane Darren Weir 1:35.35
2016 Palentino Mark Zahra Darren Weir 1:36.26

As mentioned, Gatting took home the 2019 Makybe Diva Stakes, shocking almost everyone considering his starting price of $101. Mystic Journey finished second and Mr Quickie rounded out the placings.

Check out the full list of results from 2019 below:

1 Gatting Darren McAuliffe Jamie Kah $101
2 Mystic Journey Adam Trinder Anthony Darmanin $2.05
3 Mr Quickie Phillip Stokes John Allen $31
4 Hartnell James Cummings Craig Williams $10
5 Scales of Justice Lindsey Smith Dean Yendall $4
6 Fifty Stars David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Ben Allen $26
7 Rostropovich David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Dwayne Dunn $26
8 Kings Will Dream Chris Waller Mark Zahra $13
9 Night’s Watch Chris Waller Damien Oliver $71
10 Humidor Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Damian Lane $31
11 Oohood Tony & Calvin McEvoy Michael Dee $51
12 Yucatan Liam Howley Ben Melham $17
13 Gailo Chop Matthew Williams Ms Linda Meech $51
14 Sound Michael Moroney Jamie Mott $201
15 Qafila David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Luke Nolen $41