Mackinnon Stakes

Group 1

  • row1
    Date: Nov 7, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $2,000,000


Hawkes colts fight out Golden Rose finish

Rosehill 4 3 19580323 2031414 20200926170940c4a8bb0f f128 44f8 aeb6

Two superbly bred Hawkes Racing colts have fought out the finish of the Group One Golden Rose as Rothfire's Everest campaign came under a cloud. The Queensland flyer, who started an odds-on favourite, punctured late t... Continue Reading

Rising star Russian Camelot earns praise Pippie leads throughout to win Moir Stakes September 26: 9 Must Watch Horses on Underwood Stakes Day Weight right for Boomsara in Weetwood Mark Zahra Picks Up Verry Elleegant Caulfield Cup Ride Read more Horse Racing news

The Mackinnon Stakes is a 2000m Group 1 weight-for-age race held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. It has a prize pool of $2 million and is often a race for horses looking to back up from the Cox Plate. In 2020, it will be run on Saturday, November 7.

The 2019 edition of the Mackinnon Stakes was won by the Aidan O’Brien-trained Magic Wand. Empire Rose Stakes winner Melody Belle ran second, with experienced galloper Hartnell placing third. After the victory, Magic Wand went to Sha Tin and finished second in the Hong Kong Cup.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Glencoe won the first running of the Mackinnon Stakes, which was way back in 1869. However, back then it was known as the Melbourne Stakes, a race name which was then taken on earlier in the spring and eventually changed to the Turnbull Stakes.

Some of the greats of the turf have claimed victory in the Mackinnon Stakes over the years. Phar Lap won it twice in the 1930s, a feat which Rising Fast replicated in the ‘50s. Let’s Elope was victorious in 1991 and more recently, two-time Cox Plate winner So You Think crossed the line first.

Gai Waterhouse was the queen of the Mackinnon Stakes through the 2000s, claiming victory three times between 2004 and 2008. The first of those wins was with Grand Armee in 2004, and it was followed by triumphs with Desert War and Theseo.

Magic Wand clocked 2:01.82 to win the 2019 edition of the Mackinnon Stakes, however, her time fell short of the fastest the race has seen over the last 21 years. That honour belongs to Rogan Josh, who ran 2:00.34 way back in 1999.

Mackinnon Stakes Field

The Mackinnon Stakes has some of the best horses from around the country and overseason. The field is often very strong, large and has a number of runners who are backing up from the Cox Plate. Final acceptances will be announced in the week leading up to the race.

Mackinnon Stakes Betting

Magic Wand saluted in the 2019 Mackinnon Stakes with a starting price of $4.80. The race has a mixed betting history, with three of the last five winners saluting at prices inside $10. The outliers are Trap For Fools (SP$26) and Awesome Rock (SP$18).

Mackinnon Stakes Results

1 Magic Wand Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore $4.80
2 Melody Belle Jamie Richards Opie Bosson $3.80
3 Hartnell James Cummings Hugh Bowman $10
4 Life Less Ordinary Chris Waller Nash Rawiller $41
5 Fifty Stars David Hayes Jye McNeil $16
6 Kings Will Dream Chris Waller James McDonald $7
7 Suzuka Devious Mitsuru Hashida Michael Dee $61
8 Kluger Tomokazu Takano Kerrin McEvoy $18
9 Humidor Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Damian Lane $12
10 Aristia Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Craig Williams $20
11 Gailo Chop Matthew Williams John Allen $51
12 Harlem David Hayes Jamie Kah $31
13 Night’s Watch Chris Waller Damien Oliver $31
14 So Si Bon David Hayes Luke Nolen $51
15 Debt Agent Jim Conlan Michael Rodd $41
16 Cape Of Good Hope David Hayes Mark Zahra $21


2019 – Magic Wand (2:01.82)
2018 – Trap For Fools (2:02.31)
2017 – Tosen Stardom (2:01.22)
2016 – Awesome Rock (2:02.49)
2015 – Gailo Chop (2:03.56)
2014 – Happy Trails (2:02.28)
2013 – Side Glance (2:03.59)