Coolmore Stud Stakes


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Coolmore Stud Stakes is a 1200m Group 1 sprint held at Flemington Racecourse in Victoria. It is for three-year-olds, has set weights and a $1 million prize pool. In 2020, it will be run on Saturday, October 31, the same day as the Victoria Derby.

The 2019 Coolmore Stud Stakes was won Exceedance, with Bivouac and Libertini finishing second and third respectively. Jamie Kah rode Ryan Balfour’s Li’l Kontra to fourth place. Exceedance took no further part in the spring and in early 2020 placed mid-field in three different Group 1s.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Freestone won the first edition of Coolmore Stud Stakes in 1863. Back then it was for two-year-olds, however, as of 1969, it’s been a three-year-old race. Some greats of the turf have been successful in the Group 1 over the years, including Manikato, Alinghi and Weekend Hussler.

Chris Waller managed to win the Coolmore Stud Stakes three straight times in the early-to-mid 2010s. In 2013 he trained Zoustar to victory and that success was followed by wins with Brazen Beau and Japonisme.

Exceedance clocked 1:09.76 to win the Coolmore Stud Stakes in 2019. However, Ferocity recorded the fastest time in the race over the last 20 years, running 1:08.35 in 2005.

Coolmore Stud Stakes Field

As a $1 million Group 1 race, the Coolmore Stud Stakes has a strong field that includes many of the best three-year-old sprinters in the country. In 2020, nominations for the race close on October 26 and final acceptances are on October 28.

2020 Coolmore Stud Stakes Field, Barriers & Odds

1Farnan (10)J: Glen Boss 57kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott$6.00$2.25
2Wild Ruler (14)J: James Mcdonald 57kg T: P & P Snowden$6.50$2.40
3Mamaragan (7)J: Hugh Bowman 57kg T: John Thompson$81.00$18.00
4Glenfiddich (3)J: Luke Nolen 57kg T: P G Moody$15.00$4.20
5Ranting (8)J: Ben Melham 57kg T: L & T Corstens$15.00$4.20
6Doubtland (1)J: William Pike 57kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$17.00$4.50
7Anders (2)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$9.50$3.10
8Holyfield (13)J: Jamie Kah 57kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$31.00$6.50
9Extra Time (4)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 57kg T: L Macdonald & A Gluyas$81.00$18.00
10Our Playboy (11)J: Michael Dee 57kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$34.00$7.00
11Flying Award (5)J: Damien Oliver 57kg T: D T O’brien$26.00$6.00
12Swats That (9)J: John Allen 55kg T: L & T Corstens$8.50$2.80
13Muntaseera (6)J: Jye Mcneil 55kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$21.00$5.50
14September Run (12)J: Craig Williams 55kg T: C J Waller$4.20$1.80


Coolmore Stud Stakes Betting

The Coolmore Stud Stakes has a mixed betting history, with two of the last five winners saluting with a starting price inside $6. There has also been some value in that period of time, with 2015 winner Japonisme racing to victory with at $21.

Coolmore Stud Stakes Results

1ExceedanceMichael, Wayne & John HawkesDwayne Dunn$3.80
2BivouacJames CummingsHugh Bowman$3.30
3LibertiniAnthony CummingsDamien Oliver$4.80
4Li’l KontraRyan BalfourJamie Kah$31
5Brooklyn HustleJason WarrenLuke Nolen$41
6Cosmic ForcePeter & Paul SnowdenTim Clark$7
7Alabama ExpressMichael MoroneyJames Winks$41
8BroadwayandfourthMitchell FreedmanJye McNeil$20
9Sartorial SplendorJohn SadlerMs Linda Meech$41
10AccessionChris WallerMichael Walker$26
11CardiffGerald RyanJohn Allen$101
12ExeterDavid HayesJamie Mott$201
13RuucaToby & Trent EdmondsCraig Williams$31


2019 – Exceedance (1:09.76)
2018 – Sunlight (1:08.72)
2017 – Merchant Navy (1:09.10)
2016 – Flying Artie (1:08.98)
2015 – Japonisme (1:09.50)
2014 – Brazen Beau (1:10.73)
2013 – Zoustar (1:09.23)
2012 – Nechita (1:08.59)
2011 – Sepoy (1:10.49)
2010 – Star Witness (1:09.97)