Caulfield Guineas


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Caulfield Guineas is a $2 million Group 1 three-year-old race held at Caulfield Racecourse. It is run over 1600m with set weights and in 2020 will be raced on Saturday, October 10, the same day as the Caulfield Stakes, Toorak Handicap and Thousand Guineas.

The Anthony Freedman-trained Super Seth won the 2019 edition of the race in what was a thrilling race. Alligator Blood looked home for all money, however, Mark Zahra bolted home on board Super Seth, claiming victory in a photo finish. Super Seth hasn’t won another Group 1 since but Alligator Blood won the Australian Guineas in early 2020.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Wheatear won the first running of the Caulfield Guineas back in 1881. Since then a number of great horses have won the race, amongst them are Ajax, Vain, Manikato and Weekend Hussler.

As with many races on the racing calendar, Chris Waller has had some decent success over recent years. He has trained the winner in two of the last five Caulfield Guineas, with the most recent being The Autumn Sun in 2018.

Super Seth recorded 1:36.44 to win the Caulfield Guineas in 2019, however, the fastest time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Helmet. In 2011 the Peter Snowden-trained galloper clocked 1:35.36 to win the race.

Caulfield Guineas Field

The Caulfield Guineas field is full of the very best male three-year-old horses going around. It is a $2 million Group 1 so there are often many runners in the field which obviously makes it more difficult to find a winner. In 2020, nominations for the race close on October 5 and final acceptances are on October 7.

2020 Caulfield Guineas Field

1Tagaloa (3)J: Craig Williams 56.5kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$5.50$2.15
2King’s Legacy (12)J: J Bowman 56.5kg T: P & P Snowden$6.50$2.40
3Ole Kirk (7)J: W Pike 56.5kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$3.70$1.65
4Mamaragan (13)J: M Rodd 56.5kg T: John Thompson$31.00$6.50
5Glenfiddich (8)J: L Nolen 56.5kg T: P G Moody$5.50$2.15
6Crosshaven (15)J: D W Stackhouse 56.5kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$12.00$3.70
7Amish Boy (1)J: Jye Mcneil 56.5kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$17.00$4.80
8Lunar Fox (4)J: B Prebble 56.5kg T: P A Preusker$41.00$8.50
9Mo’unga (11)J: D Oliver 56.5kg T: C J Waller$5.50$2.15
10Aysar (14)J: Damian Lane 56.5kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$20.00$5.00
11Cambourne (10)J: M Zahra 56.5kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$17.00$4.80
12National Choice (5)J: C Newitt 56.5kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$34.00$7.50
13Grandslam (6)J: John Allen 56.5kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$41.00$8.50
14Poland (9)J: Jordan Childs 56.5kg T: M D Moroney$41.00$8.50
15Captain Corelli (2)J: M J Dee 56.5kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$51.00$9.50


Caulfield Guineas Betting

With so many great runners and often large fields, the Caulfield Guineas can be a very tough betting race. Two of the last five winners have had starting prices inside $3, while four have been inside $10. The only outlier over the last five years was Mighty Boss, who had a mammoth starting price of $101.

Caulfield Guineas Results

1Super SethAnthony FreedmanMark Zahra$7.50
2Alligator BloodDavid VandykeRyan Maloney$5
3GroundswellAnthony FreedmanKerrin McEvoy$13
4SubedarJames CummingsBrad Rawiller$16
5DalasanLeon Macdonald & Andrew GluyasHugh Bowman$3.60
6ConquerorDavid & B Hayes & T DabernigDamian Lane$51
7Vegas KnightColin LittleCraig Williams$41
8Soul PatchKen KeysDwayne Dunn$17
9SkiddawDanny O’BrienDamien Oliver$41
10Stand To AttentionLeon & Troy CorstensJames Winks$151
11RoccabasceranaDavid JollyMs Linda Meech$26
12Express PassNick RyanBen Melham$21
13YourdeelDavid & B Hayes & T DabernigMichael Walker$31
14KubrickChris WallerJames McDonald$7.50
15Eric The EelStuart KendrickBrett Prebble$31
16ExeterDavid & B Hayes & T DabernigLuke Nolen$201


2019 – Super Seth (1:36.44)
2018 – The Autumn Sun (1:35.58)
2017 – Mighty Boss (1:36.04)
2016 – Divine Prophet (1:36.51)
2015 – Press Statement (1:36.47)
2014 – Shooting To Win (1:35.58)
2013 – Long John (1:36.73)
2012 – All Too Hard (1:36.05)
2011 – Helmet (1:35.36)
2010 – Anacheeva (1:37.01)