2020 Melbourne Cup

2020 Melbourne Cup

2020 Melbourne Cup


The 2020 Melbourne Cup results were shocking for fans and punters alike.

International horse, Twilight Payment, took out the grand dance – with overseas imports scoring their fourth win in five years.

This was a huge upset win, with the Joseph O’Brien-trained horse coming in at $26-to-1.

O’Brien has had previous success in this race, making history in 2017 with Rekindling, and returning with the 2019 placegetter, Twilight Payment.

The Roughie showed sheer spirit and improvement, setting the pace and leading the race in its entirety.

The 2020 Melbourne Cup Winner, Twilight Payment, held out right until the end, to fellow Irish runner, Tiger Moth, by a quarter-length on the line.

Prolific owner Lloyd Williams also took home his seventh win in a Melbourne Cup, and premiere jockey Jye McNeil, took home his first.

It was a hard knock life for Prince of Arran, who snagged his third consecutive minor placing in the cup – some say, to the fault of Jamie Kah, who gave up positioning early to the Chosen One, only to get boxed in until the final moments in the race.

Now, for the 2020 Melbourne Cup information.

There are 24 runners in the Melbourne Cup, who were narrowed down from the initial field of 300 to 400 nominated horses. These nominations are put forward in the first week of August.

A Committee ultimately decide the final 24.

After nomination, owners must confirm their intention to run four more times leading up to the Melbourne Cup. Owners are then forced to decide whether to continue with the race lead up, by paying the fees needed, or backing out.

Barriers are then drawn at the conclusion of racing on Derby Day.

The final runners are decided mostly on factors such as prize money over the past two years, wins and placing, and of course, allocated handicap.

Horses that have won other previous prestigious races around the world are actually exempted from the balloting process. These include:
the Victoria Derby, Lexus Stakes, Cox Plate, LKS Mackinnon Stakes, Caulfield Cup, Irish St. Leger (IRE), and the Tenno Sho (Spring) (JPN). There are some Australian races that allow for an automatic pass through the balloting process like the Bart Cummings, and the Andrew Ramsden Stakes.

2020 Melbourne Cup Details:

Date: November 3rd 2020
Track: Flemington Racecourse
Winning Horse: Twilight Payment, $23.00
Winning Trainer: Jim Bolger Joseph Patrick O’Brien
Winning Jockey: Jye McNeil
Winning Owner: Godolphin Jackie Bolger Lloyd Williams

Melbourne Cup Field 2020

FinishHorseMarginWeightStarting Price
16. Twilight Payment (12)

T: Joseph O’brien
J: Jye Mcneil

221. Tiger Moth (23)

T: A O’brien
J: Kerrin Mcevoy

312. Prince Of Arran (1)

T: Charlie Fellowes
J: Jamie Kah
417. The Chosen One (5)

T: M Baker & A Forsman
J: Daniel Stackhouse

517. The Chosen One (5)

T: M Baker & A Forsman
J: Daniel Stackhouse

65. Sir Dragonet (14)

T: C Maher & D Eustace
J: Glen Boss

77. Verry Elleegant (15)

T: C J Waller
J: Mark Zahra

815. Russian Camelot (16)

T: D T O’brien
J: Damien Oliver

911. Finche (6)

T: C J Waller
J: James Mcdonald

1018. Ashrun (24)

T: Andreas Wohler
J: Declan Bates

1122. Oceanex (17)

T: M Price & M Kent Jnr
J: Dean Yendall

1219. Warning (8)

T: A & S Freedman
J: Luke Currie

1313. Surprise Baby (7)

T: P A Preusker
J: Craig Williams

1423. Miami Bound (13)

T: D T O’brien
J: Daniel Moor

154. Master Of Reality (11)

T: Joseph O’brien
J: Ben Melham

1616. Steel Prince (21)

T: A & S Freedman
J: William Pike

1720. Etah James (22)

T: C Maher & D Eustace
J: Billy Egan

183. Vow And Declare (4)

T: D T O’brien
J: Jamie Mott

198. Mustajeer (2)

T: K A Lees
J: Michael Rodd

209. Stratum Albion (9)

T: W P Mullins
J: Jordan Childs

2110. Dashing Willoughby (19)

T: Andrew Balding
J: Michael Walker

222. Avilius (10)

T: James Cummings
J: John Allen

231. Anthony Van Dyck (3)

T: A O’brien
J: Hugh Bowman


2020 Melbourne Cup Favourites

Surprise Baby – Surprise Baby drew gate 20 and stormed home to get within a length in the 2019 Melbourne Cup – so it was no ‘surprise’ this lightly raced six-year-old has had his sights set on the ‘Race that Stops the Nation’ ever since.

Prep had gone 100% as the stable planned, and this New Zealand stunner hit the line hard in the Feehan and Turnbull beforehand. He was a pure stayer, and 3,200m was close to the bottom of his best distance range.

With Craig Williams aboard, Surprise Baby was looking to kick up and get just beyond midfield – grab some clear air and hold out. Rounding in at 13th was certainly a surprise to punters.

Tiger Moth – Ah, Tiger Moth. The bloke you never want to be in the Melbourne Cup field.

The favourite.

The Aidan O’Brien tried gun hadn’t had a start in Australia, but had carried such strong form at home in the UK – that he was added to the final 24. His profile mirrored that of previous winners Rekindling and Cross Counter.

As well as this, the $1,100,000 (Aus) prize winner had placed in every event he’d run in. Was looking like a sure thing, but wasn’t meant to be. Came in second, close, beaten out by Twilight Payment on the line.

Prince of Arran – Prince of Arran really is the 2020 Melbourne Cup’s biggest heartbreak story, or any Melbourne Cup in the last three years for that matter.

He does manage to grow an extra leg when he lands in Australia, and raced in at third for the Caulfield Cup – the problem?

He hates a win.

Tough as old boots, but cannot cross the line first. From 2018 – 2020, Prince of Arran placed 3rd, 2nd, and 3rd respectively in the Melbourne Cup.

He was unlucky Jamie Kah gave up early positioning to The Chosen One – as he was boxed in with no room for movement. Having to go wide instead of risking the gap cost both Kah and Prince of Arran the most lofty prize in all of Aussie Racing – The Melbourne Cup.

Russian Camelot – This bad boy has been a long time Melbourne Cup favourite for as long as anyone can remember.

This was, until his past two failures. He’s an absolute class act, and a definite stayer.

He’s in the right stables, and always rates as a serious chance. But as with Prince of Arran, just cannot seem to cross that white line.

Sir Dragonet – Was an absolute beast in the Cox Plate, and also came in less than a length from winner, Anthony Van Dyck, when fifth in the Epsom Derby.

He was also carrying 3kg less than the topweight here – and we know the Melbourne Cup winner always favours those carrying under 53 kegs.

Glen Boss, Makybe Diva’s famous jockey, was also on board – leaving us all thinking he’d bring it home. A definite disappointment on the day.

Melbourne Cup 2020 Results

Finishing OrderRunnerDistance
2nd  Tiger Moth0.4L
3rd  Prince Of Arran0.6L
4th The Chosen One2.35L
5th Persan2.45L
6th Sir Dragonet4.45L
7th Verry Elleegant3.85L
8th Russian Camelot3.95L
9th Finche4.7L
10th Ashrun4.8L
11th Oceanex5.5L
12th Warning6.8L
13th Surprise Baby8.8L
14th Miami Bound10.55L
15th Master Of Reality10.75L
16th Steel Prince10.95L
17th Etah James12.7L
18th Vow And Declare13.95L
19th Mustajeer15L
20th Stratum Albion18L
21st Dashing Willoughby19L
22nd Avilius21L
FF Anthony Van Dyck
Scratched King of Leogrance

Melbourne Cup 2020 Dividends

The 2020 Melbourne Cup quinella paid $97.20

The 2020 Melbourne Cup exacta paid $211.60

The 2020 Melbourne Cup first 4 paid $38,939.00

2020 Melbourne Cup Trifecta Payout

Avilius was the last horse across the line for the 2020 Melbourne Cup, while $23.00 Twilight Payment was the one who took out the Grand Dance.

The 2020 Melbourne Cup trifecta paid $1806.00


Want more punting tips on the Melbourne Cup? Look no further than our Melbourne Cup Guide!